Modelexicon / Models / Style

The Girl On Top… Abbey Lee Kershaw

abbey lee

HAVING lifesize billboards of yourself plastered about your home town might be terrifying to most, but ‘its never felt strange’ to homegrown hottie, Abbey Lee Kershaw.
Australia’s biggest fashion export exploded onto our local scene recently in all her peroxide princess glory for popular high street retail chain, Portmans.
Billboards emblazoned with the `Girl On Top’ campaign catchcry have been plastered all over her native city’s skyscrapers, but she sees a different girl up there to the 23-year-old Abbey with a penchant for tattoos and vintage clothing.
“I’m not sure why, but its never felt strange seeing myself on billboards, in a way it’s not even really me,” she explains.
“If you had of snapped a pic of me waking up in the morning and plastered it around the city, that would be strange, but the girl I see on billboards for fashion labels is someone I’ve transformed into.”
It’s been a successful recipe.
Last year the ethereal beauty continually transformed her image to secure a string of high-end fashion campaigns for the world’s top luxury brands from Chanel and Tom Ford to Versace, Hugo Boss, Donna Karan and Rag&Bone.
The models.com number 5 has risen through the ranks to become one of the most coveted faces in fashion.
And with yet another successful show season under her belt, Abbey is now considering the ultimate transformation, into an actress.
But for now, it’s her love interest off-set with fellow Melburnian and Our Mountain frontman, Matthew Hutchinson that’s steered her career on stage, even skipping New York Fashion Week to perform with his band on keyboard and tamborine.
It’s something she hopes to continue, with possible plans to bring her talented troubadour downunder for a tour.
I recently took five with the star to chat about her love for 90s fashion, supporting Australian designers, and coming home for the wedding of her newly engaged big sister Courtney, which featured today in the Weekend section of the Herald Sun newspaper.

21111877

Below is the full un-edited version:

Now that you’ve earnt your catwalk credit working the shows season after season, is it a relief to finally have the luxury to pick and choose? and is show season now a little more relaxed than when you were a newcomer?
It is most certainly a relief to have passed the newcomer stage.
It’s so much harder being a fresh face. You basically have to be willing to do anything with very little being out of your league.
You just have to get your face out there, now it’s about maintaining a specific profile which includes turning down a lot of work. It’s still pretty grueling though.

You were joined by one of the biggest contingents of Aussie models this season, a total of 25 including the successful Julia Nobis, Dempsey Stewart and Codie Young – do you ever get time to chat with any of the downunder dames?
I’ve exchanged words with Julia and Bambi so far. but I don’t believe I have met any of the other girls. It’s nice to hear an aussie accent every now and then.

The international modelling industry now sees Australia and New Zealand as an incredible new source for emerging faces. Aside from your obvious beauty, do you think your Aussie heritage has helped you with international clients?
In the beginning, being Australian definitely has a fun novelty to it for most clients but at the end of the day it doesn’t matter where a model is from.
As as long as she meets the physical build and is smart enough to work hard and stay true to herself along the way then she’s likely to succeed.

You’re constantly photographed in homegrown designers including Willow jackets, ManiaMania jewellery, Ellery and Portmans ensembles – is it important to support Australian fashion?
I think it definitely is.
I’m lucky to come from such a supportive country that I know will always take me back so I like to do my part in that support also.
Besides that the Aussie designers I love are creating such fabulous work that I want on me.

The Portmans campaign `Girl On Top’ has billboards plastered all over Melbourne’s walls, bus stops and shop fronts – are used to seeing yourself on big billboards? Does it feel different when it’s around your home city? Have family or friends messaged you about it?
I’m not sure why, but its never felt strange seeing myself on billboards, in a way it’s not even really me.
If you had of snapped a pic of me waking up in the morning and plastered it around the city, that would be strange.
But the girl I see on billboards for fashion labels is someone I’ve transformed into.
I get plenty of texts from friends and family.
My brother recently explained the joy of driving to his girlfriend’s place and passing a huge billboard.

1111pk

How does the Portmans slogan `Girl on Top’ sit with you personally? As models.com world number 5, are you proud of your achievements?
I don’t spend much time reflecting on my achievments as I do setting new goals.
I am forever striving for more.

You also feature in the latest Portmans in-store magazine, UP, wearing a wig that returned you to your bohemian roots a la Gucci tresses – was it fun to play around with your old hair?
I play dress ups everytime I go to work, so to be honest the novelty of playing around with different looks has kind warn off I’m afraid.

You mentioned in a recent video that you chose to die your hair platinum because with your fair skin, it made you look more like a fairy – it seems you love stepping outside yourself and becoming a character, do you think that will ever see you venture into acting?
Acting was never a burning desire growing up but the act of pretending and the wild desires I had to be other strange and wonderful people was.
So I’m beggining to discover that maybe deep down I do want to be an actress.

One other profession you have stepped into recently is musician, were you nervous on stage?
I was absolutely beside myself with fear, but my dad always taught me that if you’re scared it’s a good thing because it means it matters to you.
Remembering those words has always got me through those fears.

You are photographed constantly on the street, with numerous dedicated Abbey Lee fan sites tracking your every outfit – how would you personally describe your dress sense?
I get asked about my style so often and I wish I could find the answer but the truth is I never have detailed thoughts about what I’m going to wear.
My outfits seem to reflect my personality and mood on that day, which can change in a heart beat being a gemini.
I know one thing…I love colours, wild prints, velvet and lace!

8VtVb

You’re always wearing vintage, what are your favourite vintage stores around the world?
In Melbourne I’m obsessed with the Salvation Army and also Savers, though Savers requires serious mental strength and serious determination. haha. It’s so big it can be overwhelming.
In Paris there is a huge flea market that I love escaping to if I have the time and in New York the best places are around my neighbourhood in Brooklyn, which is dangerous.

Lately you have been rocking a 90s-esque look with the ManiaMania choker, are you a big fan of this era?
I love the 90’s. Aside from chokers I really dig big black boots with little sequined dresses, mid drifts tops and dark red lipstick from the 90’s.
I love elements of every era before the thousands, which is probably another reason why my style is so hard to put your finger on.

The recent CK one campaign shows a very candid Abbey speaking about her childhood, playing imagination games in her bedroom – is that why you enjoy modelling so much?
I can’t honestly say modelling is in anyway comparitive to my childhood, but I definitely enjoy the similar transformation of pretending.

In a recent interview you spoke of your love for creating abstract art, will the world ever get to see any of it? would you ever consider an exhibition?
To exhibit my work would be a incredibly fullfilling moment. I have very high expectations for myself so I wouldn’t do it unless I truely believed it was great enough, so that day will be a good one.

It has been a massive year for your career with campaign after campaign and V magazine hailing you as the next big supermodel, where to from here?
There’s always a job I haven’t done or a photographer I haven’t worked with or a magazine cover I haven’t graced.
Always more to conquer.
My personal wishlist is forever expanding and growing into a journey of discovering exactly what I’m capable of aside from modelling. In particular all forms of art.

09

Now the show season is over, will you have much down time to relax?
I don’t do so good at relaxing so luckily I don’t have that luxury too often.

Is there any chance you will return home sometime soon? Do you miss Melbourne?
I’m so happy you asked me that because its the perfect time to mention that my big sister Courtney just got engaged to a really great guy, so I’ll be right there with her when the special day comes! Hopefully soon!
It’s hard being away from Melbourne purely for the fact my families hugging arms don’t reach New York.

And will Our Mountain return home to play gigs around town?
At some point yeah I’m sure we will. I look forward to that day.

 

Leave a comment