Modelexicon / Models / Style

Miss Australia Jesinta Campbell – Interview

Sacha Strebe writes for The Vine.

JesintaCampbellBrownlows2014

Flashing her signature smile and trademark titter, Jesinta Campbell is every inch the pageant princess. But it took much more than a perfect bleached-out pout to award her the Miss Universe Australia crown and second runner-up at the Las Vegas titles, Jes – as she is affectionately known – has a remarkable inner happiness and positive outlook on life that seems way beyond her 19 years.

It’s this infectious charm and maturity that earned her Miss Congeniality, a title she holds more dear than first prize. Perhaps it’s attributed to her humble homegrown roots in Clagiraba, just 10 minutes out of the busy glitter strip into the lush setting of the Gold Coast hinterland.

And her `sanctuary’ now plays a vital role in securing valuable down time away from the spotlight  with her family, which is now a rare occurence with three to four flights a week to attend fashion launches, race days, and modelling gigs for Novo shoes, Kooey swimwear and Nude by Nature make-up.

Now the brunette beauty returns to the runway with her second strut for retail giant Myer in their 1930s-themed Autumn Winter collection launch on March 1 at the historical Royal Exhibition Building in Carlton. And the teen is keen to `get this transition right’ even practicing her walk in hotel hallways.

While she had the pressure of the whole world watching as she took to the pageant runway, this time Campbell will be walking alongside long time `idol’ and face of Myer, Jennifer Hawkins, not forgetting the rest of the Myer celebrity stable including Kris Smith, Pia Miller, gap-toothed beauty Jess Hart fresh from the international catwalks, television personality Sara Groen and Underbelly‘s Vince Colosimo.

With just four months left of her Miss Universe reign, we took five with the leggy looker to chat about `returning to her roots’ as she steps away from the beauty queen onto the catwalk, hanging out with `bubbly’ Jen backstage, her plans to move to “her favourite city in Australia”, Melbourne, and the “big chop”.

It has been a whirlwind year since you came 2nd runner up in the Las Vegas Miss Universe pageant and got named Miss Congeniality, tell us what are some of the most memorable experiences, life changing even, that have happened to you during the course of this year?

This year has been full of life-changing moments and experiences that I will remember for the rest of my life. It feels like so much has happened in such a short amount of time and it’s hard to pick just one thing that stands out. One of the incredible things about this whole experience has been the amount of travel I have done. I have had the chance to see most of Australia within the past 9 months, a stand out was shooting the Kooey swimwear campaign in the middle of the Desert in Alice Springs!

Now there are just four months left of your reign as Miss Universe Australia, how are you feeling as you see this chapter coming to a close?
When I was crowned Miss Universe Australia I really felt like I took on an ambassadorship role for Australia. It’s going to be sad when this comes to an end, however I am excited to see what the future holds for me outside of the reign. I can’t wait to see who is going to be crowned MUA for 2011 either, the contestants are all so gorgeous!!

You have been a judge in the national search for the next girl to take the crown, tell us about some of the girls you have met along the way and what the judges are looking for in the next Miss Universe Australia?
I always love getting backstage and having a chat to the girls before they compete, the excitement in their eyes and their eagerness for the title gives me goosebumps everytime, it reminds me of how lucky I am to be in the position that I am.  Ultimately the judges are looking for someone who can go overseas and represent Australia so I guess they are looking for someone who is down-to-earth, friendly and encompasses all of the great things about being Australian.

Since you took on the title, you have emphasised in the press your desire to venture into television and some of that has been realised with guest spots on the Morning Show and Sunrise, are there any plans in the pipeline to host your own show yet? has Getaway finally called you? 
I absolutely love exploring and travelling to new places so something like Getaway is high on the ‘Dream Jobs’ list. Television is something that I would definitely love to explore further.

It has just been announced that Myer will be adding you to their star line-up for their Autumn/Winter collections launch on March 1, you must be thrilled at returning to the catwalk again, how are you feeling about this alliance?
When I received the call that Myer had booked me for their AW collection launch at I was over the moon.  Myer is such an iconic Australian brand associated with the best fashion labels. I have grown up shopping with my mum and friends at Myer and I am so excited to be walking for a brand synonymous with style and class.

The Myer show will see you take that step from beauty queen to a serious fashion model, how important is it to get that transition right?
Before I entered the Pageant I was working as a fulltime fashion model.  In some respects I feel like I am returning to my roots but I am feeling a little nervous.  Modelling in a pageant is so different from being on a fashion catwalk, I am not going to lie, I have been practicing in the hallways of my hotels. I am super excited to get back up on the catwalk, it’s important that I get this transition right because I am wanting to return to the catwalk as a fashion model.

Jen Hawkins has made a professional and prosperous career from her Miss Universe title by making the transition from pageant princess to a fashion model with her ambassador role with Myer and being the face of many Australian fashion brands – do you hope to fashion a similar career out of your Miss Universe role?
Jennifer Hawkins is a huge inspiration, she has managed to merge her talents and passions with her entrepreneurial mindset and create a great brand for herself. The Miss Universe competition provides a fantastic stepping stone for titleholders to continue on and carve out a career doing whatever it is they love. I started off as a fashion model and it something that I want to get back into, I love being on the catwalk and Jennifer’s career is one that I don’t think anyone would mind having!

How does it feel to be working so closely with Jen Hawkins – I understand she has been an idol of yours for some time and was often on your inspiration boards before you were even crowned Miss Universe Australia?

I had the chance to work with Jen at the SS09 Launch in Sydney and also interview her when I was working as a roving reporter on CH.7’s The Morning. However this time I will be working even closer with her and other big names like Jess Hart and Pia Miller which I am so excited about. I really admire the path that Jennifer has taken and she is a super lovely person so I can’t wait to work with her at the AW11 launch.

There aren’t many of us who have the privilege of being backstage with Jen, to hang out with her away from the scrutiny of paparazzi flashbulbs and media heckling – is this where the real fun happens? What is it like to `hang’ with Hawkins and all Myer posse away from the limelight? 
I’ve had the chance to meet most of the Myer Ambassadors (excluding Jess Hart) and the fantastic thing is that they have chosen ambassadors who are friendly and down to earth and who represent their brand(s) in a manner that is reflective of Myer’s fun, fresh attitude.  Jennifer Hawkins is the same, bubbly, friendly person offstage as she is in front of the camera. Before the show everyone is usually really focused because we really want the show to be a success but the vibe and energy is always upbeat and you can feel the excitement in the air!!

There is such an incredible stable of Australian designer fashion at Myer now, what are some of your favourites? Who would you most love to wear on the catwalk?

I was thrilled when I read in the papers that Myer had just purchased Sass and Bide, the designer duo are definitely one of my favourites and I am hoping I get to wear something from their collection in the show. Myer has such a wide range of deisgners and fashions it is really hard to narrow it down to just a few that I love, however I adore Aurelio Costerella and Wayne Cooper who has dressed me numerous times, Jason Brundson and Yeojin Bae just to name a few.

Can you give us any inside goss on what the show will be like? or what they have in store for you? 
I haven’t had my fittings yet so unfortunately no goss to share…however I did walk in their SS09 launch in Sydney and the show was definitely the best fashion show I have ever done.  The Myer shows always leave audiences feeling satisfied!! I am so excited about walking for them again, I am counting down the days.

This will mean you will be back in Melbourne again, after just making an appearance at the LMFF program launch, you seem to be here often – any plans to relocate here eventually? It must be hard to leave your beloved Gold Coast home and family behind?

In the next few months I will be relocating to Melbourne or Sydney. I travel all the time to Melbourne for various commitments and it is my favourite city in Australia, it will be hard to leave the laid-back lifestyle of the Gold Coast behind but I will be back regularly to visit and get my dose of home cooking

You have over 10,000 twitter followers and Facebook fans, do you see social networking as an integral part of your work as Miss Universe?
Social networking is definitely an integral part of being Miss Universe, it makes it easy to keep people updated on what it is I am doing and also it is a great way to connect with fans. I try to reply to most of the messages I receive, it is important for me to feel connected with the people who provide me with constant support. I wouldn’t be where I am today if it wasn’t for them!!

Since you died your hair darker and cut it shorter a few months ago, what kind of reaction has it triggered? you were hoping for people to see you as sophisticated and grown up, has it worked?
I am absolutely loving the ‘Big Chop.’ I didn’t expect it to receive as much attention as it did though, I didn’t think it was that big a deal when I was getting it done. People have responded well, I think it’s nice to move away from the pageant image too and start to carve out an individual style for myself. I use a quarter of the amount of hairspray that I used also which I am sure is much better for the environment 😉

Leave a comment