Modelexicon

Model Minute: Jade Jackson, mother of wolves

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” –   Antoine de Saint Exupery 

There’s beauty, and then there’s that stop-you-in-the-street vision who simply takes your breath away. You know the kind I’m talking about, they command a compulsive reaction to stare, often with mouth agape, eyes wide like a child with complete disregard for how embarrassing it must appear to others and how uncomfortable the subject may feel during said staring.

We’ve all been there and there’s certainly no stopping it, we’re only human right?

Melbourne model Jade Jackson evokes this kind of rubbernecking reaction, her angular features would make ancient Greek sculptors clamor to carve her, her lithe limbs ensue envy from both women and men alike, paired with a cutting tomboy hair style, Jade couldn’t be a wallflower if she tried.

It’s this atypical beauty that’s captivated fashion editors, stylists, and brands all over the world, from shooting with Rankin, to starring in Ksubi’s campaign to editorials in L’Officiel, Elle Australia and a video profile with Vogue Italia.

In this exclusive Model Minute, Jade reveals why women run with the wolves; her new-found love; and the craziest thing she’s ever done.

post-35528-1315425560

My favourite place is… Madikwe, South Africa.

Music is… A mood changer.

I’m at my best when… Hiking in nature.

Women are… This requires a book. So I will recommend “Women who run with the wolves” by Clarissa Pinkola Estés, to complete this sentence.

I want to tell my older self… “Go out in the woods, go out. If you don’t go out in the woods nothing will ever happen and your life will never begin.” ― Clarissa Pinkola Estés.

The person I admire most is… My mother.

The most exciting place right now is… Cape Town.

Being a model is… An opportunity.

Health is… The most important asset you can have.

My current obsession is… Growing my own vegetables.

jade jackson organic garden

Jade’s organic vegetable garden via Instagram

My favourite childhood memory is… Toasting hot cross buns by the camp fire in the backyard.

To unwind I like to… Light a candle, some incense, play rainforest sounds and have a shower.

On a photoshoot I’m thinking about… What kind of movements would suit the clothes.

When I see myself in a photoshoot I… Find it kind of odd.

My favourite fashion people are… There are many! I have to note my mother agency Viviens for always protecting and respecting me.

jade jackson

Fashion is… Personal.

My wardrobe consists of… No free coat hangers.

2015 will be the year I… Fix the broken string on my violin and hopefully learn
to play it.

I never thought I would… Be so enthused about gardening.

The craziest thing I have ever done is… Walk with wild cheetahs.

In my lifetime I want to achieve… A peaceful existence.

My future looks like… Pugs, tropical plants, a large veggie garden, maybe some chooks and a big happy family.

 

Read more about Jade on models.com

Leave a comment