Modelexicon / Models / Style

Miranda Kerr and her new baby

By Sacha Strebe originally published on goldcoast.com.au

Miranda Kerr

BENEATH the glamorous exterior, the life of supermodel Miranda Kerr isn’t quite the fairytale existence.

In a rare, candid interview with CoastConfidential, Kerr speaks of her fast-paced life, climbing trees in Gunnedah, her love of cooking and that old modelling chestnut weight.

It’s all there, except life with Hollywood heart-throb Orlando Bloom, which she refuses to comment on.

For the most part, Kerr’s version of reality is a working whirlwind of six days and up to three countries a week, 50 weeks of the year.

“I just live in the moment and enjoy every step along the way,” Kerr tells CC.

“Sometimes I’m running so fast it can be a little overwhelming, but I try and embrace it while I can, because I have perspective on the whole picture and realise this is only for a short time in my life.”

The runway role model first graced our pages in 1997, winning Dolly Magazine’s Australian nationwide model search at 13.

She replaced Gisele Bundchen as a Victoria’s Secret angel in 2007, became the new face of retail giant David Jones a year later and now, at 26, is a household name worldwide.

And it’s easy to see why. Kerr has the girl-next-door looks, a killer body, the hunk, and incredible wealth (she ranked 10th in the 2008 Forbes.com list of the world’s top-earning models). But away from the paparazzi, Miranda remains a NSW country girl who’s `all time favourite thing to do is cooking’ for family and friends organic of course and climbing trees.

“My heart is definitely in the country and with nature,” says Kerr, based in the US.

“Some of my favourite memories are with my cousin Rebecca and brother Matthew climbing the willow tree in my grandma’s backyard.

“I also remember doing wheelbarrow races, the first time my cousin taught me to ride my bike, and unfortunately the first time I crashed the motorbike.”

When Miranda steps away from the fashion glitz, she loves to hang out with her close friend, Mother Nature.

“I love being in nature, being outdoors and amongst nature is so important for our wellbeing.

“Climbing trees was my favourite thing to do at home in Gunnedah. Everything from climbing trees, riding motorbikes, riding horses and being a school teacher.

“We used to play school, my grandma used to babysit a lot of kids from the town and they would come over and I would sit them down and give them homework.

“We would make up dances and I used to always like to entertain and sing on the little karaoke machine.”

Miranda Kerr flies back to Australia this week to star in the David Jones `A Long White Winter’ 2010 Collection Launch on February 10 and CoastConfidential will be joining her in Sydney with exclusive interviews and backstage chats with the designers, models and Kerr herself.

 

Delightfully Different

HER face has flooded the fashion world, but the high-fashion circuit has had only their first glimpse.

Kerr made her debut as a high-fashion runway model last year on the Balenciaga spring/summer 2010 runway at Paris Fashion Week and she can’t wait to do it again.

“It was a great experience to do the Balenciaga show and work with a talented designer who has so much passion for his work,” she says.

“He is so genuine and so real. It was a completely different experience to the David Jones shows and the Victoria’s Secret fashion show. The VS show is such an extravagant event and Balenciaga is so understated.

“The whole motivation was different and the whole marketing process is different. They are both really great in their own ways.”

Kerr says Victoria’s Secret, David Jones and Balenciaga are `totally different’, but she likes them all equally.

While the Victoria’s Secret show is `quite theatrical’, Balenciaga is more about the clothes, she says.

“VS is a lot about interacting with the audience, whereas Balenciaga was just about us walking and not making any eye contact,” she says.

“With David Jones, it’s my job to be the face and to relate to the customer, not just be a model, so it’s important I interact with the audience and with the customer.”

 

This Baby’s Just Grand

MIRANDA has a new baby.

The supermodel recently purchased a baby grand piano and has made it a personal goal for 2010 to learn how to play it properly.

That’s if she can find the time another one of her 2010 goals.

“My personal goals include making more time for myself, as I think it’s really important,” she said, “To really make sure I have that balance.”

The part-time tinkler said she can already play the piano by ear, but she really wants to learn and be taught how to play properly.

“My grandma plays the piano by ear and my mum plays the piano. I hope I’ll have time for that,” she said.

Hopefully, she can find the time in between publishing her highly anticipated book Treasure Yourself , developing a blemish cream and lip balm for her organic skin care range Kora, and continuing her work with David Jones and Victoria’s Secret.

 

Secret Nerves

MIRANDA Kerr commands the catwalk she walks, so it’s hard to imagine her getting pre-show jitters.

“The first time I did VS (Victoria’s Secret), I was nervous,” she says. “It was such a different experience doing something like that rather than your regular fashion show.

“They have 15 different cameras at every angle while you’re walking.

“It’s the most watched fashion show in the world. So if you think about it too much, you can create a lot of pressure for yourself.

“But me, I just try and embrace it, enjoy the music and just have fun.’

The Power of Passion

OK, let’s get it out the way.

Weight. Miranda Kerr has been criticised for it or a supposed lack of it, as has nearly every supermodel walking today.

Kerr’s brush with controversy came last year when paparazzi shots emerged of her looking thinner than usual in a corset for Grazia Australia.

Kerr still vehemently denies the claims.

“My weight has been the same for the last three years,” she says.

“The shots you are referring to were taken of me in an exaggerated pose and it was unfortunate.

“I am healthy and I’m really passionate about filling my body with nutrients and I’m passionate about health.

“The last thing I would ever want to be is an unhealthy role model for girls.”

Not one to give in to the dieting pressures of the modelling industry, Kerr believes an organic diet is the key to a healthy body and mind.

“For me it’s ongoing, it’s a continual process, as I’m always shooting in my underwear.

“To be honest though I’d probably be eating the same and exercising the same regardless if I did this job or not.

“I am just so passionate about health and well-being.”

Surrounded by a body-obsessed industry, Kerr realised at a young age the benefits of being healthy.

“It’s the way I am. It’s the way I’ve always been.

“I feel the benefits first hand, putting the right fuel in your body so it can function at its optimum.

“The power of the mind is so strong, every thought you think affects our body on a cellular level, so we need to fill our body with the right thoughts as well.”

Fashion Treat

DESPITE spending most of her time in the US, Miranda Kerr still calls Australia home.

She especially looks forward to the David Jones parades and supporting Australian fashion.

“They are always the statement pieces of the show and I’m really proud of our Australian designers,” she said.

“I’m so excited that David Jones stocks the best designers in the country.

“I’ve grown up with these designers and I really think they have their fingers on the pulse when it comes to fashion.”

The Victoria Secret angel is inspired by legendary Australian designers Alex Perry and Collette Dinnigan, but it is the emerging talent she loves coming home to.

“I love to see who the newest young designers are at David Jones,” she said.

“My favourite Australian labels are Willow, Scanlan & Theodore, Sass & Bide, Collette Dinnigan and Ksubi my Ksubi jeans are my favourite.”

 

All Natural

MIRANDA Kerr loves nature – and it loves her, too.

The brunette bombshell has stripped to reveal her enviable, trim body in several nude shots, including the famed Pirelli calendar, Australia’s Rolling Stone magazine and popular men’s mag GQ America.

The confident Kerr has no qualms being naked, posing for the cheeky picture sans clothing lying on a rug, showing the flawless body that won the heart of actor Orlando Bloom.

But the February edition of GQ sparked a backlash from its American readers who questioned her sex appeal.

A report in

She says going naked for the Pirelli calendar with controversial photographer Terry Richardson was a `great experience’.

“Terry is such a nice guy and I felt super comfortable,” said Kerr, who has won the hearts of men the world over, last week claiming a top-10 place on Askmen.com’s Top 99 Women 2010.

But the supermodel has those bedroom eyes only for one man, and she’s Kerr-azy for Bloom even though she won’t publicly admit it.

 

One thought on “Miranda Kerr and her new baby

  1. Pingback: Kerr-ful approach to life gives Miranda the right balance | Sacha Strebe

Leave a comment