Modelexicon / Models / Style

Mannequin Minute: Tiah Eckhardt

tiah-eckhardt6-copy1

With her signature flaming locks effortlessly tousled – a little undone but achingly cool – plump pout that could rival a Greek goddess, milky complexion you only wish you could bathe in, and a sultry stare sure to tempt you from saint to sinner in the coy wink of an eye – it’s all in a day’s work for iconic Australian model, Tiah Eckhardt. The ravaging redhead hailing from Perth has become an institution in Australian fashion, not just for her work as a (very) pretty face, but as an intellect with a savage wit, aspiring writer, blogger, mother and more recently, lingerie-enthusiast with her new tumblr, The Daily Knicker.

You have established yourself as a model icon in Australian fashion, how hard have you worked to achieve that status?

I’ve always looked at my career as something that had the potential to be lucrative. But even as a 14-year-old I knew getting picked from obscurity to do something big and fantastic had the odds of winning the lottery. Instead I just invested the money I made early on back into my career, as you would with any business.

I turned up on time, paid attention and just got good at doing it. There’s LOTS of girls that are younger, prettier and thinner than me but I just do my job well and fast and try to make everyone’s day easier, I find that makes a big difference. I’d rather be known for being the one who’s hardworking than the one who can eat the least or had to sleep with someone to get booked!

Since giving birth to your daughter, your body looks incredible, how do you keep in shape? Do you think it’s a blend of good genetics along with diet and exercise?

I’ve always kind of gotten shit by the industry for having a bit of tits and arse even though technically I was the ‘right’ height and size. It used to really upset me when I was younger then when I was about 18 I just embraced it. I think yeah, genetics play a big part of it, but self-acceptance is really underrated.

I’ve always done physical things, like dancing or ice-skating growing up, but it’s always been more for the fun of it. The only time I’ve really conscientiously worked out was the 3 months after I had my daughter and I hated it! Sucked big time. But I did it, then just went back to normal!

You are publicly outspoken on many issues regarding photoshop in editorials and brands depicting an unrealistic image of models, why is this message so important to you? What changes would you like to see in the industry?

I have no problem with photoshop, I think it’s a totally necessary part of our industry. I look at it the same way as special effects in movies – it looks great but you’ve got to appreciate it for what it is, fantasy. What I do have a problem with is inconsistencies in people’s professional and personal attitudes when they’re essentially selling themselves. There’s something incredibly dishonest and selfish about telling people “oh I’m just naturally this skinny and eat whatever I want” when you really chain-smoke and haven’t had a proper meal in a week or along those lines, it’s deceitful and condescending to the public.

I understand models want to seem superhuman to elevate themselves, but it would be great if they could just admit to being normal and how damn hard it is to stay looking that way. I find it really funny when girls are like “I think I look most beautiful at home with no make-up on” hahaha- I think I look most beautiful when professionals have spent 4 hours doing my hair and make-up and had someone retouch me to perfection! And there’s no problem with that, but I’ll admit it!

tiah-eckhardt6

With such a long history in the fashion industry, you must have made some incredible fashion friendships, do you feel a strong connection to the industry here? What do you love most about Australian fashion design?

I moved to Sydney when I was 17 not knowing a soul except the people I worked with, so all my friends here ending up being in the industry. I have a very tight knit group of girlfriends who are all models from Perth, we’ve grown up together, traveled and lived together and it’s one of the things I cherish most in the world- the best gift the fashion industry ever gave me! Another one of my best friends I met as a dresser on high-school work experience- now she’s an editor!

A lot of friends are photographers of make-up artists or whatever, and there’s some common trait that makes me love them all, I think it’s a desire to make the world more beautiful, even if it is just superficial. The people in the industry are far more real in Australia, they still like to be fabulous but know it’s just fashion at the end of the day and can call bullshit on it. That lightheartedness is missing internationally I always felt.

Would you ever relocate overseas? If yes where, and why?

If I could speak French I’d live in Paris in a heartbeat. I also love the US and my husband’s American, but I don’t think I could live in NY again, not with a child. Maybe California, it reminds me a lot of Perth and it can be so, so beautiful.

What are some of the most loved campaigns/shows/editorials you’ve done?

Pretty much anything I ever shot with Justin Smith and Mark Vassallo for Vogue, Follow, Harpers Bazaar and Mark magazine. Separately they are geniuses. Together, they created magic. I’ve still not seen anything that comes close to it and it was such a privilege to be a part of.

Who are your favourite photographers to work for? And why?

Justin Smith, I love him on so many levels. Rankin, David Bellemere, Simon Lekias, Kane Skennar and Holly Blake, they all make you look your most beautiful, are kind and are just great a creating an image.

You have a blog you update regularly with various literary posts that include musings on life and existence – do you ever think of pursuing writing as a side career or putting pen to paper to publish a book one day?

It’s always been a dream of mine, but is probably a bit further off in future. For now I’m happy to contribute the occasional piece to publications that ask me to do so. I’ve always kept journals and writing’s a kind of purging for me, so I don’t necessarily think it’s all good and it’s not always butterflies, flowers and snowflakes, but it is honest and if anyone enjoys it or identifies with it then that’s fantastic. I wish I had time to write more- I feel better when I do!

Models are known for the MOD style, how would you describe yours?

Eek I’m so over the bratty punk child MOD-style! But I guess it’s a teenage thing. I don’t think I even have style anymore, I just wanna be comfortable, cute, maybe a bit sexy if I can be bothered. I have lots of little dresses and pretty lingerie, so that’s what I feel comfy in I guess, but I don’t put any thought or energy into it. It’s just very easy to put on some nice knickers and slip into a sundress!

Describe Tiah in 3 words or less!

Ummm…. Ahhhh….. Ooh!

Visit Tiah’s blog, The Daily Knicker which is an `intimate sartorial review’ of lingerie by Tiah.

Leave a comment